Book Recs: If You Liked That Try This!

if you liked this try that

Everybody loves a good book recommendation right? This time I’m doing the classic “If you loved this book try this other book!”.

I tried my best to pick popular or more well read books and recommend something like them. I have read all of these too, so I could give you guys the best recommendations possible!

Also if you happened to have already read the book I’m recommending you can always read the one I’m recommending it for, just swap em vice versa.

my page divider

 

Marked (House of Night #1)

 

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy, #1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you liked “Marked” by P.C. Cast & Kristin Cast try “Vampire Academy” by Richelle Mead.

Both books feature vampires (surprise, surprise),  all vampire schools, and the vampires have unique powers. Although I will say I don’t care for the House of Night series but I LOVED the Vampire Academy series. The girls in House of Night were too boy crazy and damsel-y for my tastes, but the characters in Vampire Academy were independent and badass.

 

Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, #1)

The Girl from the Well (The Girl from the Well, #1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you liked “Anna Dressed in Blood” by Kendare Blake try “The Girl From The Well” by Rin Chupeco.

Both books have very powerful and vengeful ghosts as their main characters and both will scare the crap out of you as well. There’s also quite a bit of interesting ghost lore in each of the books.

 

 

 

 

Half a King (Shattered Sea, #1)

 If you liked “A Game of Thrones” by George R.R. Martin try “Half a King” by Joe Abercrombie.

Both books have a badass cast of characters as well as betrayals, deaths, and fantastic plot twists. Although “Half a King” is a young adult book it is definitely a great read for any fan of Martin’s series. Not to mention the Shattered Sea series is only 3 books long and is finished while we are all still waiting for Martin to release “Winds of Winter”. So do yourself a favor while you wait and read “Half a King”.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #1)

 

Revenge of the Witch (The Last Apprentice / Wardstone Chronicles, #1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you liked “Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief” by Rick Riordan try “The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch” by Joseph Delaney.

Both books are kind of leaning towards Middle Grade but are enjoyable for ALL ages. We have two boys out of their element and thrust into a world of magic. Percy’s world is Greek mythology while Tom’s is the supernatural. I can definitely say the Last Apprentice series is perfect for any Percy Jackson fan.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth (The Forest of Hands and Teeth, #1)

 

Rot & Ruin (Rot & Ruin, #1)

If you liked “The Forest of Hands & Teeth” by Carrie Ryan try “Rot & Ruin” by Jonathan Maberry.

So obviously these both feature zombies and they both take a look into the bonds that form between people when they’re forced (or not forced) together to battle and survive a world with zombies. While I did enjoy “The Forest of Hands & Teeth” I think that “Rot & Ruin” is a far better book overall.

Gone (Gone, #1)

 

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking, #1)

 

If you liked “Gone” by Michael Grant try “The Knife of Never Letting Go” by Patrick Ness.

Vastly different and yet very similar, these are both books that have themes of survival and coming of age. Kids are forced out on their own to deal with problems they normally never would have to deal with and both come from the dystopian/sci-fi genres. I will say that “Gone” doesn’t really delve into anything deeper than entertainment like “The Knife of Never Letting Go” does, but they both are very enthralling reads.

my page divider

That wraps up this book recommendation post, hopefully you guys found some new books to add to your ever-growing TBR’s!

Which books have you already read on this list?

Or if you added any of these to your TBR which ones were they?

Let me know in the comments, I love hearing from you all!

 The Sassy

Advertisements

14 thoughts on “Book Recs: If You Liked That Try This!

  1. Travellinginmybookcase November 19, 2015 / 10:20 pm

    House of Night for me had a good storyline but the characters were a bit annoying after a while. Stevie Rae used to really annoy me.

    Liked by 2 people

    • thesassygeek November 19, 2015 / 10:26 pm

      I agree so, so much! I mean I read probably 9 books in the series before I just gave up on it. Stevie Rae was definitely one of the most annoying characters too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. TheQuirkyBookNerd November 21, 2015 / 6:46 pm

    I read Marked years ago and I’ve actually completely forgotten what I thought of it, but I definitely want to give The Vampire Academy series a try at some point. Also, I’ve read (and loved!) The Lightning Thief, but I’ve not yet heard of The Last Apprentice; that’s one I’m definitely adding to my list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thesassygeek November 22, 2015 / 7:21 pm

      Great! I’m glad you found one to add, that’s what the post is for after all haha! I really enjoyed The Last Apprentice so I hope you like it as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. mugglebooks January 4, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    This is amazing! Such a great idea! I loved VA and I’m going to try Marked!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thesassygeek January 4, 2016 / 5:33 pm

      Well thank you! I loved the Vampire Academy series so much, I wasn’t a huge fan of Marked though but I hope you have better luck with it 🙂

      Like

  4. celestialblackrose December 30, 2016 / 2:31 am

    I feel like “boy crazy” is putting it mildly when Zoey had like–what, maybe 6 love interests total (yeah some died and whatnot but still). At least two are always on-going not in a love triangle but just as “hey, I can have both so I’ll have both”. Both HoN and Alyson Noel’s “Immortals” series are right at the top of my worst-reads-ever list lol. Although with Immortals it was more of the terrible characters and their decisions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thesassygeek January 5, 2017 / 9:22 pm

      Yes 100% agree and it was one of the biggest reasons I got annoyed with that series were the tons of love interests. Everytime a new male character was introduced it was BAM Zoey’s.
      I’ll have to steer clear of Immortals then because if it’s WORSE it’s definitely going to annoy me! 😊

      Like

  5. Jessie Silakowski August 28, 2017 / 9:59 am

    I absolutely loved The Knife of never letting go. I thought that it was so unique and unlike anything I had ever read before. To few people know of this book. It really should be more popular in my opinion!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek August 31, 2017 / 8:37 pm

      Glad you enjoyed The Knife of Never Letting Go as well! I definitely haven’t read anything else like it either and it was such a great if heartbreaking story. It should be way more popular, I agree! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s