Heather’s Bookshelf: Funko Pop Book Pairings

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So I’d like to thank Ashleigh over at A Frolic Through Fiction for inspiring this post! We were discussing Funko Pops and she said I should do some sort of post with my collection, and well here it is!

Mostly what I had to do was think up book related themes/questions to FIT each of my Funko Pops. So bear with me please! It was actually pretty hard since some of my figures don’t really fit a theme or character from any books I’ve read. Some of them are a stretch but that’s just what I had to do.

Also I am not by any means a photographer, so apologies in advance for my pictures!

my page divider

Alduin (Skyrim) & Smaug (The Hobbit) – A Book With Dragons In Itย 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“A Dance with Dragons” by George R.R. Martin

This is a perfect fit not only because there are dragons in the story but also dragons in the title. Boom. Done. The figure on the left is Alduin from the video game Skyrim and the right one is Smaug from The Hobbit book and film franchise.


Nemo – A Book With An Adorable/Awesome Animal

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Anna Dressed in Blood” by Kendare Blake

So this is one of my goofy match ups, like I said it was pretty difficult with my limited selection of books and my odd collection of Funko Pops.

Anyways there’s an awesome cat named Tybalt in this book, therefore he’s an awesome animal companion. Nemo got matched up with this book because he’s one awesome little animal, while not a companion per say in his movie. So two awesome animals. That’s how my brain put this together.


Baymax – A Book Containing Superheroesย 

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

“Vicious” by V.E. Schwab

Alright so I know that this isn’t Baymax all armored up as a superhero but oh well, he’s cute and still considered a superhero. Also I don’t have any superhero centered books so I’m semi-cheating and matching it up with “Vicious”. I’m currently reading “Vicious” in a surprise buddy read with Ariana at The Quirky Book Nerd. *waves* Hi Ariana!


Trinity (The Matrix) – A Book With A Badass Female Character

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Vampire Academy” by Richelle Mead

Rose Hathaway is definitely a badass and since she’s one of my longest running favorites she wins. Rose is on par with Trinity from The Matrix films, both complete badasses. So that’s why I’m matching these two up. That’s really all there is to say. Two tough women kicking ass and taking names.


Jax Teller (Sons of Anarchy) – A Book With A Bad Boy Main Character

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“I Hunt Killers” by Barry Lyga

This is another one that’s a bit of a stretch since honestly Jax Teller and Jasper Dent don’t really have a lot in common and yet they do. Jazz tries not to follow in his father’s footsteps as a serial killer and Jax tries not to follow in his “stepfather’s” footsteps as the leader of a motorcycle gang (he wants a different direction for the gang). It gets complicated both these boys are bad, bad, bad. Not evil bad but you know……bad boy, bad.


Daenerys Targaryen & Jon Snow – A Song of Ice and Fire Book

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

“A Storm of Swords” by George R.R. Martin

Yep what goes better with Daenerys and Jon than an ASOIAF book? The answer: nothing.


Garrus & Grunt (Mass Effect) – A Book Set in Space

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

“Illuminae” by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

I’m definitely cheating with this one since I haven’t read it yet! It’s the only one on here though I promise!

So for those of you who don’t know, I am obsessed with Bioware games. Mass Effect is the shit. It only makes sense for me to have two Funko Pops from one of my favorite video game franchises! Mass Effect is set in space and so is “Illuminae”, I matched them up because I have a serious lack of sci-fi books…..


Xenomorph (Alien Franchise) – A Book Featuring Aliens

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

“The Host” by Stephanie Meyer

Once again I’m really grasping at straws here. So like I said earlier I don’t have many sci-fi books but I do have “The Host” and souls are kind of like aliens right? Right, don’t argue they totally are. So I had little choice but to pair it up with the xenomorph from the Alien film franchise. Xenomorphs (xenomorphi?) are terrifying, but this one’s cuuuuute!


The Bride/Beatrix Kiddo (Kill Bill) – A Book About Revenge

SAM_0664.JPG

 

“Vengeance Road” by Erin Bowman

Fun fact: I love Quentin Tarantino. I own every one of his movies, so no surprise here when I say I LOVE Kill Bill.

Kill Bill is ALL about revenge so what perfect book to match with that other than “Vengeance Road”? Kate Thompson isn’t nearly as badass as Beatrix Kiddo, however, but she still holds her own. She goes out on the warpath to avenge the death of her father by a murderous gang of outlaws.

 


Gandalf – The Lord of the Rings

SAM_0660.JPG

 

“The Lord of the Rings” by J.R.R. Tolkien

Do I even need to explain this?

Yeah I thought not…


Dancing Groot (Guardians of the Galaxy) – A Book With A “Resurrected” Character

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

“Inkdeath” by Cornelia Funke

This one was pretty hard to think up. I couldn’t find a good question/theme for Groot……so I thought “well he DOES kind of come back to life technically”. So here we are.

I won’t go into details about why I picked “Inkdeath” since helloooo spoilers! Just know that it has the title for a reason. Besides it’s been so long since I’ve read it I don’t think I could go into details if I wanted to.


Loki (Marvel Universe) – A Book With A Morally Ambiguous Character

SAM_0647.JPG

 

“Alice” by Christina Henry

Surprise, surprise. Heather is going to preach to all of you some more about this awesome book.

I’m matching Loki up with Cheshire from “Alice”, they’re both not inherently evil but not exactly the nicest guys around. They’ll basically do whatever it takes to achieve their own agendas, whether that means doing outright evil things or helping the “heroes” out in order to obtain their goals.

 

my page dividerHopefully that went OK!

ย Sometimes I’m convinced Tony Stark is my spirit animal.

The Sassy

 

15 thoughts on “Heather’s Bookshelf: Funko Pop Book Pairings

  1. This is fantastic! I am completely obsessed with Funkos and it’s so awesome to see other people’s collections! Love how you paired each of them up with books too; that’s such a cool idea ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m definitely going to need to get a Baymax and an Alduin. Funko Pops are the best โค

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 2015 End of the Year Survey |

Leave a Reply

