Monthly TBR: January

lifetime(5)

This is my first time doing a monthly TBR plan so we’ll see how it goes! Since it’s a new year I think it’s a good idea for me to actually start planning the books I’ll be reading. Easier said than done I’m afraid, since I’m more of a mood reader….

I’m going to try and set the bar a little higher with 6 books this month, hopefully that will give me the proper motivation to read and review more.

If I don’t get around to all of them…oh well.

New year, new blog posts, and new reading lists! Yay!

Let’s get started.

my page divider

Da Vinci's Tiger

“Da Vinci’s Tiger” by L.M. Elliott

I’m pretty excited for this book actually, I really love the Renaissance period and I haven’t had the chance to read any YA fiction set during that time. Also I have this weird thing about Da Vinci, it probably has something to do with my obsession with Assassin’s Creed II and “Da Vinci’s Demons” (TV show).

The point is I wanna read this book and since it’s only 304 pages long it should be a quick read.

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)

“Six of Crows” by Leigh Bardugo

I’m really ashamed of myself for not having read this yet. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it and it came out on my birthday and everything! And I still haven’t read it!

I’m actually currently reading it now and I’m done with about half of it. It’s getting pretty good, the action is really intense. I read half of it in one sitting and didn’t want to go to sleep, I wanted to stay up and finish!

Blackhearts

“Blackhearts” by Nicole Castroman

I really love pirates.

So of course I’m excited to read a YA book about pirates! I received an ARC of this book via Edelweiss, so since the book is going to be published February 9th I really need to get this ARC read this month.

5 to 1

“5 to 1” by Holly Bodger

I’m currently STILL anxiously awaiting this book’s arrival to my doorstep but I’m planning on reading it this month. It’s only 244 pages so once again a very quick read.

Plus I love the cover…..

The Bone Season (The Bone Season, #1)

“The Bone Season” by Samantha Shannon

I can’t believe I haven’t read this one yet, lots of people either love it or hate it I feel. I like great world building and I think I can expect that from this book. Plus the hardcover is beautiful!

Hopefully it won’t take me that long to read it…..

Ice Like Fire (Snow Like Ashes, #2)

“Ice Like Fire” by Sara Raasch

I’ve had this book on hold for at least TWO MONTHS.

I’m finally next in line for it at the library though so I expect I’ll be reading it in January. I haven’t heard very good things about this sequel though so I’m not exactly excited to read it, but since I liked the first book I feel obligated to read this as well.

page divider

So that wraps up my January TBR post, hopefully I read MORE books than are on this list. If I read more I’ll be pretty proud of my self actually….good motivation for me.

What are you guys planning on reading this month? Any books on this list? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

21 thoughts on “Monthly TBR: January

  1. I don’t know if I will get to it this month, but Six of Crows is near the top of my TBR. I loved the Shadow & Bone trilogy, so I’m looking forward to reading this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just been sorting out my own reading for January. Three of my NetGalley requests got approved literally within hours of one another, and I’m already in the middle of three other books. And there are a couple of other challenges that I’d like to knock off books for this month. So… I’ve in theory got nine for January? Which is unlikely to actually happen, but i like to aim high.

    I really love the covers for Blackhearts and 5 to 1. I’ve added them both to my own TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel your pain, haha. I hate when I plan out what I’m going to read and BOOM a bunch of ARCs get approved. I agree the covers for Blackhearts and 5 to 1 are gorgeous, I’m glad you added them to your TBR! 🙂

      Like

  3. Good luck with your TBR! I can’t plan a TBR for the life of me, as I never feel like reading any of those books. 😀 Hopefully you have more luck with it then me.
    The only book that I know that I am going to read this month is A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin, because I am starting it tomorrow. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I hope I enjoy it as well I’m pretty excited to read it! I’m really hoping Blackhearts is a good read, I’d be so disappointed if it didn’t deliver because it really does sound interesting 🙂

      Like

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Resolve To Read In 2016 |

Leave a Reply

