Book Review: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

a title here (6)

 

description

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

review

This is going to be a short, sweet review because honestly my review won’t do the book proper justice.

Where do I even begin to describe my love for this book? Oh right I know exactly where to begin, I’ll begin by thanking the lovely Ariana over at The Quirky Book Nerd for recommending this fabulous book to me! (She has great taste guys, go check out her blog for recommendations).

Anywho! Like I said this is one fantastic book, because who doesn’t love funny books? Unless you are literally a black hole that loves nothing better than consuming all happiness and humor, otherwise I can guarantee you’ll love this book!

“Hyperbole and a Half” is truly a hilarious book, I don’t think I’ve laughed so hard while reading in a long ass time. I kept trying to read it out loud to people and I couldn’t even get the words out I was laughing so much. I think the book will pretty much fit everyone’s type of humor, I can bet you’ll laugh AT LEAST once.

Plus I absolutely LOVED the illustrations, they added so much to the book. The book is simply incomplete without them.

I think I spent more time looking and laughing at pictures than actually reading…..

Also they’re so colorful and just overall fun to look at and read, I borrowed an e-copy from my library and I’m really regretting not reading it in its full colorful glory!

What I also really loved was how Allie Brosh dealt with real-life issues in her book, adding humor and honesty to things such as depression. I don’t know about you but when a humor book can make you feel better about dealing with mental health issues then it gets an A+ in my opinion. I have to deal with my anxiety and just reading Brosh’s stories/chapters on that really helped me feel a bit less hopeless about it.

I’ll actually go and buy my own personal print copy of this book and re-read it again, also give it to my friends and family and hope they read it too. Does that help you understand how great this book is?

The only reason I’m rating this a 4.5 instead of a full 5 is that I’ve already read some of the chapters/stories before so they lost the teeniest bit of their humor on me. That’s it though! The only reason I promise.

So really do you need more convincing? Go read this book now!

Links: Goodreads / Amazon

The Sassy

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Day Reads |

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Read Because of Other Bloggers |

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Graphic Novel Favorites & TBR |

Leave a Reply

