Giant Book Haul! February – April 2016

giant book haul.jpg

I haven’t done a book haul post in forever and that’s why I have so many books for this one so I apologize for the long post in advance!

These are books I’ve purchased within the last 3 months and I will be including Kindle E-Books that aren’t shown in the the picture below.

book haul

my page divider

 After The Woods by Kim Savage

I know I’ve feature this book on here before but I did manage to finally get a copy! It has some mixed reviews but all of the reviewers I trust have given it a higher rating so I’m hoping it’s as good as expected. I really love psychological thrillers (really it’s the only contemporary I like to read) and it should be pretty dark and twisted. Fingers crossed!

Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

First of all the cover is crazy gorgeous so even if the book itself doesn’t live up to expectations it’s still a beauty on the bookshelf! This book is apparently a misch mash of many genres including: western, steampunk, fantasy, paranormal, etc. Seriously it’s got a lot going on and I’m excited to see how those will all blend together!

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

I have actually already read this and have yet to get my review up (sorry! I’m really awful at getting my reviews up lately), but I did give it a full 5 star rating so you know it’s a perfect read! The cover is gorgeous and so is the story.

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

Another book I have already read and haven’t reviewed yet, this one was a little disappointing mostly because I had no idea what was really going on with it. I enjoyed it but also it was a bit too odd for my tastes.

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

I’m currently reading this, I’m a BIG fan of the Peter Pan story so of course I had to get my hands on this retelling. So far it’s a decent book like the little twists on the original characters and story.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Why haven’t I read this yet, you may ask. The answers is: because I haven’t. This is a pretty hyped book and with the sequel coming out this fall I really need to make time to read this soon. Plus the paperback was released and I looooove paperbacks.

Kill The Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

This was an impulse buy if you want me to buy your book make it pretty and hot pink and you’ll increase your chances tenfold. Yes I loved the cover but I also just loved the title, I mean “Kill the Boy Band”? That screams interesting. I think the story is literally what the title tells you, a pack of fangirls get their hands on a member of their favorite boy band. You can imagine. Also I love books about fangirls, since I am one….

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

No I haven’t read this yet…..yes I do know the movie is coming out…no I haven’t seen the trailer because I live in fear of spoilers. NO SPOILERS. More than likely I will wait to the last minute for this one in which case I mean right before the movie comes out so I can go see it.

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

This comes highly recommended by a few of my blogger friends as well as trusted reviewers. So I got a copy for $5 and here I am. This is a sort of thriller mixed in with your usual YA contemporary  and while I do want to read it it’s not really high up on my TBR right now.

The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy

It’s supposed to be creepy and I do love creepy stories, I also got it for $4 so of course I had to get a copy even if it does sit around on my shelf for a while…….

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Ok I’m going to be honest: I bought this because I want to know what the big deal is. I love challenging hype that way like, “Yeah what’s so great about you? Let’s see”. Also I got sick of everyone talking about “The Raven King” and possible spoilers. I figured I would just read all of them (if I like this one) and avoid spoilers.

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

Because I read the other two and loved them and now I must see how it all plays out…..

The Rose and The Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

Once again…because I read and loved the first one and I desperately need to know how it ends! Seriously though, Renee Ahdieh can write DAMN well.

Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor

I love Laini Taylor and after that cliffhanger in “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” I need answers!!

Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay

I got it for $3 and it has some good reviews so it was worth buying to check out. I like retellings and while I think Beauty and the Beast is overdone I figured I’ve give this one a shot. Did I mention I got for $3? That’s its winning quality right there.

The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent

Great reviews, great premise. How could I not buy this one? It’s dystopia and paranormal mixed together.

Dark Shimmer by Donna Jo Napoli

This is a book I got based purely off of the premise and the cover, it’s a retelling of the origin of the Evil Queen from Snow White and it’s also set in Venice. How does that NOT sound amazing?

A Book of Spirits and Thieves Morgan Rhodes

So I haven’t read “Falling Kingdoms” yet and it’s a little embarassing but I also saw fantastic reviews for this book and I was told you don’t have to read the Falling Kingdoms series first in order to read this one. So here I am with a copy of this!

Last But Not Least: Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

This is my very first physical ARC and I’m super pumped about it! The title is pretty self explanatory and I cannot wait to start this. The book isn’t set to be released until September 20th though.

my page divider

Now for the E-Books! Which aren’t picture but I will provide you with covers regardless.

The Uninvited by Cat Winters

I have loved Cat Winters’ writing ever since I read her other book “The Steep & Thorny Way” and even though this one is adult fiction rather than YA I couldn’t resist getting a copy on my Kindle since it’s only $0.99. (I think it’s still at this price by the way)

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

Tons of great reviews for this book and pretty much everyone has read it but me so here I am with a copy, plus I love YA Fantasy.

Our Lady of the Ice by Cassandra Rose Clarke

This isn’t YA but it sounded super interesting and even though it has some mixed reviews I figured I’d give it a shot.

Starflight by Melissa Landers

This is the only ebook I have on this list that I actually paid full price for! It has stellar (get it? Stellar?) reviews and I had to buy it, especially since I’m looking for more YA science fiction books.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

This was on sale for $1.99 for a day a while ago and I was screaming with excitement because EVERYONE loves this book and its super underrated so I HAD to buy it.

Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen

YA Fantasy? Check. On sale for a cheap price at the time? Check. Everyone seems to love it? Check.

Front Lines by Michael Grant

I loved Grant’s Gone series and this book is about an alternate WWII setting where women could enlist to fight. How does that not sound awesome?

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

This had mixed reviews but it sounded interesting enough and for $1.99 I’m not really going to be too judgemental.

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

Not the greatest reviews around and this may not be my cup of tea but the idea behind this book, mafia-style families of assassins, sounded too good to pass up for $1.99.

my page divider

Sorry for the long post! I’m going to try and do my book hauls a little quicker than this so my posts won’t be so long next time.

Are there any books on this list that you’ve read?

Any books here that you want to read or get your hands on?

Have you had any great hauls lately?

Let me know in the comments! I love hearing from you guys!

The Sassy

20 thoughts on “Giant Book Haul! February – April 2016

  1. Ooh, nice haul! I hope you enjoy The Raven Boys––I am absolutely in love with that series (as is everyone nowadays it seems, haha). I loved Wolf by Wolf as well; I agree, it’s so underrated! I am always recommending that book to everyone. 😀 Starflight was also a fun book.

    I haven’t bought a ton of books lately, but I did recently buy The Raven King, and I also bought The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just started The Raven Boys and it’s pretty good so far so I’m hoping the rest lives up to all the hype. I actually really love when people recommend me great but underrated books (such as Wolf by Wolf) because they deserve more attention! Also I’m super jealous you got a copy of The Hidden Oracle, I really want to get my hands on a copy but I feel like I should finish the Heroes of Olympus series first. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad you’re enjoying it! It’s a little confusing at first but I hope you like it in the end. 😀 Yes I’d definitely recommend finishing HoO before reading THO; it takes place after HoO and it spoils the ending, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Excuse me while I go binge read the HoO series, haha. Thanks for the info, everyone is loving Hidden Oracle and now I want to read it desperately! 🙂

        Like

  2. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them! They are all honestly really great and amazing.
    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is literally amazing and I truly am so happy that I have come across it because I really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you! So keep it up (:
    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, amazing haul 😀 So many of these books are on my TBR! I was going to list all the ones that we had in common, but it’s just about all of them that you’ve hauled 😂 I really hope you love The Raven Cycle, it’s one of my favourite series ever!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow that’s really cool that we have so many TBR books in common! More people to fangirl with! I just started The Raven Boys the other day and it’s really interesting so far I just want to know what’s going on! I’m thinking I better order the next 3 books so I don’t have to wait haha 🙂

      Like

  4. Wow great haul!
    Firstly I have to comment on Me Before You, I read it this past month and it is brilliant. You will not be disappointed. Also The Raven Boys, I took it out of my library last month and I started it but I couldn’t really get past the first chapter, I was in essay writing land at the time though so I think my brain was just like ‘no more please’ when it came to anything book related.

    So many great books on this haul, I think I have actually only read Me Before You on it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just realised that I said ‘so many great books on this haul’ then I went on to say how I had only read the one… I mean there’s so many on my TBR list or heading onto my TBR list now!
      aha apologies 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I definitely want to at least get to Me Before You before the movie comes out so I’m glad to hear it’s an awesome book! I actually just started The Raven Boys and it’s pretty interesting so I hope you give it another go when your brain wants books again haha. 🙂

      Like

  5. Such an epic haul! I approve of so many of these titles. You should definitely read The Winner’s Kiss and Wolf by Wolf soon. Both are so fab. Me Before You is an important read but I didn’t seem to love it as everyone else did. However, it still was very good. Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Summer! I am dying to finish the Winner’s trilogy but I keep getting tied up with other books so hopefully soon and I’m very determined to read Wolf by Wolf since everyone seems to love it and it seems very underappreciated! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

