Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday(9)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jamie @ The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is pretty simple and straight forward, what books are on our spring TBRs. I personally am terrible when it comes to sticking to a set TBR since I’m a mood reader so while these books on my list are ones I’d like to get to sooner rather than later these are by no means set in stone.

I will also link each title to its Goodreads page in case you guys want to check out any of these books!

my page divider

10.) Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles, #1)

I have a feeling I’m either going to love this one or really hate it since I’ve seen reviews that swing both ways. I’m not the most patient of readers so slow pacing really kills me and I’ve heard this book is pretty slow. However, I do love YA fantasy so I’m hoping it will be worth it.


9.) Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Tiger Lily

I’m a HUGE Peter Pan fan so of course it’s my mission in life to get my hands on all of the retellings! Unfortunately it seems there really aren’t any amazing ones out there but “Tiger Lily” has tons of glowing reviews but at the same time a few people haven’t liked it. So I’m a little nervous about this book but I’m hoping it’s actually a good Peter Pan retelling.


8.) The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

The Call

I’ve heard about this book a lot but at the same time I never hear it mentioned, it’s very underrated. While it’s listed mostly as a dystopian I think it’s YA horror as well, with some Irish mythology mixed in! I think it will be a very thrilling, quick book so I’m hoping to get to it.


7.) Front Lines by Michael Grant

Front Lines (Front Lines, #1)

An alternate history book where women and girls were eligible for service during World War II, how does that not sound awesome? I’ve always loved learning everything I could about this era in time so it’s definitely right up my alley and I am hoping to make time for it (finally) this spring!


6.) Starflight by Melissa Landers

Starflight (Starflight, #1)

YA fantasy and sci-fi are two of my absolute favorite genres and unfortunately I don’t think there are enough good YA sci-fi books out there. However, “Starflight” appears to be one of the few with all of the glowing reviews and from the sample I read it deserves every one. I’m super excited to get to this one!


5.) Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising (Red Rising, #1)

Super popular and super hyped I’ve been wanting to read “Red Rising” for a while and FINALLY got a cheaper copy off of Book Outlet. I’m excited to see if this one lives up to expectations!


4.) An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

I’m slowly trying to get through some of the more popular and hyped books on my TBR so this one definitely needs to get read here soon.


3.) The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The Song of Achilles

Once again really popular book and I am ALL for an “Iliad” retelling.


2.) The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

I have this weird sort of morbid kind of curiosity concerning cults so a book about a girl who lived 12 years in one really appeals to me. I’ve also heard TONS of good things about this book so I’m definitely going to read it soon, if not next!


1.) Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)

This will be my first new release purchase this year because I MUST HAVE IT! And once I get my mitts on it I will drop everything and read it right away!

Image result for we wants it we needs it

my page divider

What books are on your Spring TBR?

Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

Are any of these on your TBR as well?

Let me know in the comments and feel free to link up your Top Ten Tuesday as well!

The Sassy

 

 

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Spring TBR

  1. Strange the Dreamer is on my spring TBR too! I’m so excited for that book! And The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is on my TBR too. I have the same kind of morbid curiosity that you described.

    Great list πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome, “Strange the Dreamer” is going to be one of those books worth all the hype I just know it!
      Sorry for getting back to you so late I was going through a terrible blogging slump! But now that I am back I just put up my review for “Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly” and it was so, so good! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one interested in cult things like that, haha! I would say that book definitely is really intriguing in that manner so I’d recommend it if you find cults interesting! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • No problem! I’m in a bit of a blogging slump myself, so I totally understand πŸ™‚
        I really need to boost The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly up my TBR list. It fell into this weird place on my TBR where it keeps getting pushed down by new releases but I still really want to read it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so excited to see how you feel about Finnikin of the Rock and Red Rising. Those are two of my favorite series. (Finnikin is definitely a slower story, but the story is really beautiful. Plus, the sequel is AH-mazing!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I have heard a lot of people say Finnikin has some slow pacing but I think if the world building and story is interesting enough I could push through. I’m glad to hear it’s worth it and also that the sequel is even better!
      Of course I also have yet to hear anyone say anything negative about “Red Rising” so I’m excited to get to it! πŸ™‚

      Like

    • I’m going to be reading “Tiger Lily” next so I hope it’s as good as everyone says it is! I have also heard lots of positive things about TSoA but also that there were issues with it. I’m hoping by reading through it I can have a little better understanding since I want to know what the problems are without spoilers. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I hope you enjoy Red Rising and An Ember in the Ashes! Both were four-star reads for me, though I’m more intrigued by Ember and has continued on with only that series. And Finnikin – I love Melina Marchetta but haven’t had the chance to read her fantasy novels just yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Reg! I have a good feeling I will enjoy both books as well I’m currently holding a Twitter poll for voting on what to read next and “Red Rising” and “An Ember in the Ashes” are tied which I find very funny! They’re both super popular so that’s really no surprise.
      I have heard Finnikin has slower pacing but if the world building is interesting I’m sure it won’t be a problem, I also have Marchetta’s “Jellicoe Road” as well! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Such a great list! I have a lot of these on my TBR as well! Definitely need to pick up An Ember in the Ashes & am intrigued by Red Rising as well! Love your meme at the end πŸ˜‚ It’s how I feel about most books πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Thanks for sharing your list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I HAD to use that gif at the end because it just describes my feelings exactly I’m glad you can relate as well!
      “An Ember in the Ashes” and “Red Rising” are such popular books I’m sure those ones are worth all that hype too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. I’m currently reading the Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly and so far it’s good. It’s probably just me, but I’m having a hard time getting into it. The writing and plot is all fast-paced and great, there’s just something there that isn’t clicking. I really hope you get around to reading it because I haven’t seen anyone else blog about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry for getting back to your comment so late! I was in a terrible blogging slump…
      I recently finished and put up my review for “Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly” and while I thought it was a good book I definitely had moments where I got bored because the pacing was slower. I get what you mean, there is interesting stuff there but there was something missing to make it more addictive if that makes sense?
      πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s alright! I hope you’re out of your slump! I actually read your review, sorry I didn’t leave a comment, I’ve been strapped for time, but I did enjoy it! I agree with the pacing, it was slow and that’s what really killed the plot for me. That totally makes sense! I wish there was just a little of something, I’m not really sure what, but it didn’t something to keep it really going! I’ll have my review up sometime this month… I’m so behind on reviews!

        Like

      • I’m out of the slump for the most part and am slowly catching up to all of the comments (as you can see)! That’s 100% fine I know exactly how time consuming everything blog related go, thank you for reading it! Can’t wait to read your full review for it as well! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Sooo many of these are on my TBR! I especially need to read An Ember In the Ashes, Red Rising and The Song of Achilles! I’m currently reading Strange The Dreamer and Laini Taylor is a creative genius. It’s A LOT to take in though so I’ve only been managing a few chapters at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • All three of those are probably the “biggest” books I have on my immediate TBR, they’re so popular and hyped! I’m soooooo excited to read Strange the Dreamer because I adore Laini Taylor’s work, I still need to order my copy though I’m waiting to get it off Book Depository because I need that UK edition with the blue pages! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Pingback: March Wrap-Up |

Leave a Reply

