Retellings I’d Like To See More Of!

 

Top Ten Tuesday(71)

Everybody likes a good retelling don’t they because I know I do! It’s really fun and interesting to see different, unique spins on stories we already know! However, there seem to be some stories out there that just don’t get enough love in my opinion. This list just puts together a few I’d really like to see done or see more of and they aren’t “fairy tale” specific either!

My list is specificallyΒ  referring to the YA genre for the most part.

Of course if I have happened to read an example of one of these I will link up a review or mention a retelling I know of even if I haven’t read it yet. I will also link up the books I have not read to their Goodreads pages! I will bold the ones that are personal reviews.

Also if you know of any retellings for these please let me know in the comments!

my page divider

Robin Hood

Such a popular classic story, wouldn’t you agree? However, as much I feel we see Robin Hood represented in other things such as movies or TV shows we really don’t get to see any different spins on the tale in books. I do know of one YA retelling called “Scarlet” by A. C. Gaughen.

I’d really like to see the same kind of idea as in “Scarlet” where outside characters interact with Robin Hood, or maybe a gender-bent Robin Hood, or maybe even a sci-fi retelling!


Aladdin and His Wondrous Lamp

Of course the story of Aladdin has been done a couple of times already but I still feel like I haven’t read enough Aladdin retellings! With all of the One Thousand and One Nights retellings that have been coming out recently I just feel it’d be even more appropriate for more Aladdin as well. There is a retelling called “A Whole New World” by Liz Braswell based off of the Disney version but it hasn’t really received great reviews. There’s also “The Forbidden Wish” by Jessica Khoury that is a simply amazing retelling where Aladdin falls in love with the gender bent genie, I highly recommend it!

I’d like to see more retellings in the style of Khoury’s with gender bent characters or a badass “Princess Jasmine” (I know that’s only her name in the Disney version but you get what I mean!) or even a gender bent Aladdin would be neat too! Really though I’m just down for any kind of retelling.


Beowulf

How epic and awesome would a Beowulf retelling be?! Ya know because the poem is already “epic” …………see what I did there?

Anyways, I actually heard there was going to be a sort of gender bent retelling coming out next year called “The Boneless Mercies” by April Genevieve Tucholke. Hopefully it turns out fantastic because I’m usually not the biggest fan of Tucholke’s writing.

However, I’d be really really interesting to see any kind of retelling of Beowulf like the gender bend Tucholke is doing or maybe a retelling from Grendel or Grendel’s mother’s POV?


The Arthurian Legends

Really just any of them from King Arthur and Excalibur, the Knights of the Round Touble, Merlin, or Morgan le Fay. Just any retelling on any aspect of the Arthurian Legends I need some authors to do this! I’m thinking it would make for some pretty great YA fantasy if it was done properly!


The Little Mermaid

Of course I feel it’s pretty safe to say we all know the story of The Little Mermaid but aside from the Disney adaptation are there really that many other retellings of it? The recent release “The Seafarer’s Kiss” by Julia Ember is the only retelling I know of and it combines a bit of Norse mythology with a F/F romance as well.

I’d love to see a retelling of this story since I feel there’s many creative ways to do it, the main character doesn’t even necessarily need to be a mermaid (even though mermaids are pretty great).


Hansel & Gretel

I really don’t know of any retellings of the Hansel and Gretel fairy tale and why that is I have no idea! The only representation I can think of is the movie Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters which I like the concept of. I’d really like to see a dark, horror retelling of this tale or something similar to that movie where the two characters are witch hunters.


Hua Mulan

I know that there are technically several retellings of this legend but in my mind just because your main character is disguising herself as a man doesn’t make it aΒ  Hua Mulan retelling. So while books such as “The Flame in the Mist” by Renee Ahdieh, “Kingdom of Ash and Briars” by Hannah West (which was actually amazing), and “Defy” by Sara B. Larson have all been labeled as such I want the REAL deal! I’m thinking either fantasy or more historical fiction-y would work well!


The Iliad & The Odyssey

I know that Madeline Miller has done a retelling of “The Iliad” featuring a M/M romance with “The Song of Achilles” and is going to be publishing a sort of “Odyssey” retelling called “Circe” from the witch Circe’s POV as well which is fantastic! ( I also know those aren’t really YA either) However, why aren’t there more of these? There are so many different characters and creatures to work with from both epic poems I feel there should be more especially in YA!

It’d also be really great to have more M/M or F/F/ romances in them or maybe even some gender swapped characters as well.


Hades & Persephone or “The Abduction Myth”

As many retellings or uses we see of Greek mythology in modern literature we really don’t see all that much of the goddess Persephone or of her abduction by Hades. I feel like the overall allusion of this myth may be used quite a bit but there really aren’t any specific retellings.

I feel once again a gender-bend or M/M or F/F could make for a very interesting retelling of this myth. Or even just a twist where Hades might not be that bad of a guy and he and Persephone actually fall in love kind of like a “Beauty and the Beast” thing. Just throwing this out there since it’s one of my favorite myths, I know it sounds weird but I love how her story is an origin myth for the seasons.


Honorable mentions (since I don’t know a whole TON about these stories but would still like to see some retellings of them!)

  • The Snow Queen
  • Sinbad the Sailor

my page divider

Do you want to see any of these retellings as well?

Do you have any recommendations for books that are retellings on this list?

What are some retellings you’d like to see more of?

Let me know in the comments!

The Sassy

31 thoughts on “Retellings I’d Like To See More Of!

  1. I’d also love to read retellings of Robin Hood! As regards the Hades & Persephone myth, there is a booktuber (Samantha from @thoughtsontomes) who loves that myth and she has several videos where she talks and recommends about its book retellings she has read, so if you are looking for more books about that one maybe you could check her channel out πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad it’s not just me who wants more Robin Hood, it’s definitely not done enough!

      Also thank you, thank you, thank you for letting me know about Samantha’s channel! I will definitely have to go over there and look for retellings of the Hades & Persephone myth! Super excited thanks for the tip again! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I completely agree with all of these. I think the Beauty and the Beast retellings are getting a bit old to be honest, it would be nice to see some different ones. I would love to read more of the Little Mermaid retellings, there really don’t seem to be many out there other than the one you mentioned. Awesome list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree the market is really becoming over-saturated with Beauty and the Beast retellings! Not that I don’t love them it would just be nice to see something different.

      Little Mermaid retellings would be great, glad you agree! It’d be really neat to see more mermaid books since they really aren’t done a whole lot.

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I love this list and agree with pretty much all of them, especially Persephone and Hades! In my teen years I read a LOT of fanfiction (where retellings are incredibly popular) and many of the ones I enjoyed really, really worked in various Greek myths. It was super awesome. ❀

    Sinbad the Sailor would also be amazing just on the novelty alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Reg!

      I think fan fiction really has the right of it sometimes, there are some great ideas there that could make there way into novels!

      Sinbad would definitely be cool especially since I have yet to see any retelling for that one! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Oo I would LOVE to see more of these! Thank you so much for also including details of the books which you know of that feature those retellings as alot of them I haven’t heard of. I’m particularly dying to read a Mermaid book? I never have! (Other than the little mermaid)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you agree Hannah and also happy to provide links to the books I know of, I wish there were more that I could have included!
      I’ve only read The Seafarer’s Kiss and I thought it was a lot of fun to read a mermaid books so there definitely should be some more and not specifically The Little Mermaid too like you said! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I know there’s a female Robin Hood one called “The Outlaws of Sherwood” by Robin McKinley and a Little Mermaid one called “Drown” by Esther Dalseno. I haven’t read them yet, but I agree; let’s do other retellings πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: #FolkloreThursday: Retellings and Adaptations I covet – Elou Carroll

  7. I want more Greek myth retellings as well, I wouldn’t mind if Madeline Miller wrote them all. I read and enjoyed The Song of Achilles, it was clearly well researched and I really appreciated that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It would be so cool to have some Hansel and Gretel retellings! I feel like there could be some reaaallyyy creepy versions and I’d be so here for that. I LOVE Greek mythology so I’d definitely love to see more retellings for that especially for the lesser known Gods/Goddesses. A F/F Hades and Persephone retelling would be AMAZING. Someone write that, stat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would love if Christina Henry would do a creepy, horror retelling of Hansel and Gretel since she did such a great job with Alice and Hook!
      I, of course, love Greek mythology as well so I’d be down for a TON more retellings of it!
      And thank you! I thought a F/F retelling of Hades and Persephone would be great as well, where are all these authors that I need to write these books for me, haha? πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up // July + Life Update and Book Haul – Book Adventures

  10. Pingback: July Wrap-Up | The Sassy Book Geek

Leave a Reply

