Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Reads for the First Half of 2020

Top Ten Tuesday(1)

Oh boy, are there some amazing books coming out this year! You almost need to break it down into halves at the very least. Here are some of the books I’m most excited for in 2020 (January through June).

Each title will be linked to its Goodreads page if you want more of the synopsis or to add it to your shelves! These titles are in order by release date.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

It has now been moved over to That Artsy Reader Girl.

my page divider

10x10 Book Banner.jpg


Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5) by Seanan McGuire
Release Date: January 7th

I have read and loved all of the ‘Wayward Children’ series so far and I’m very excited to give the latest one a read. This one picks up where the first book left off involving Jack and Jill. Honestly all of these books are amazing so I’m expecting no less of this installment!


Upright Women Wanted by Sarah Gailey
Release Date: February 4th

This novella honestly just sounds so, so good. I’ll leave the whole little synopsis here because it’s short and explains the book far better than I think I could with fewer words:

Esther is a stowaway. She’s hidden herself away in the Librarian’s book wagon in an attempt to escape the marriage her father has arranged for her—a marriage to the man who was previously engaged to her best friend. Her best friend who she was in love with. Her best friend who was just executed for possession of resistance propaganda. The future American Southwest is full of bandits, fascists, and queer librarian spies on horseback trying to do the right thing.


Witches of Ash and Ruin by E. Latimer
Release Date: March 3rd

I mean this is the blurb:

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Sounds pretty amazing and there’s mention of a serial killer on the loose involving the witches as well. Witchcraft, serial killers, Celtic mythology, gods. It’s everything I never knew I needed.


The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix
Release Date: April 7th

With a title like that how can you go wrong? Also the blurb:

Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be a blood-sucking fiend.


Elysium Girls by Kate Pentecost
Release Date: April 14th

Dust Bowl inspired fantasy about Life and Death pitting the city of Elysium against supernatural forces. There’s more witches, demons, and girls creating a cavalry of magical scrap-metal horses. Again, what’s not to love about all of this? Sounds amazing.


Looking Glass (Chronicles of Alice) by Christina Henry
Release Date: April 21st

This book features four new novellas set in the world Henry created with her books “Alice” and “Red Queen”. Essentially they are very dark, gritty retellings of ‘Alice in Wonderland’ and honestly those books are still some of my all time favorites so I am ready for some new novellas!


The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna
Release Date: May 26th

Hello, gorgeous cover! Also that blurb though:

The start of a bold and immersive West African-inspired, feminist fantasy series for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice.


My Calamity Jane (The Lady Janies #3) by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Jodi Meadows
Release Date: June 2nd

After reading and loving the first book “My Lady Jane” I was basically sold on the whole series. And while I still have yet to read “My Plain Jane” I’m all in for the third book here. I mean a YA western about Calamity Jane just sounds like a ton of fun!


The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles #1) by Kester Grant
Release Date: June 2nd

This is being described as a diverse retelling of Les Miserables and The Jungle Book, not sure how those two are going to mix but I’m definitely willing to find out!


Wonderland by Zoje Stage
Release Date: June 16th

I absolutely loved Stage’s novel “Baby Teeth”, it was wonderfully creepy. I’m definitely looking forward to everything she writes in the future. This one is about a family moving out to the middle of nowhere has to fend off an unknown entity calling them from the woods. It sounds so creepy and I’m living for it!

my page dividerAre you planning on reading any of these too?
What books are you looking forward to in 2020?

Let me know in the comments!

Follow Me Elsewhere: Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

The Sassy

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Reads for the First Half of 2020

  1. Nerd Narration January 7, 2020 / 2:43 pm

    First and foremost, YAY for including The Court of Miracles. As a Les Mis fan I’m fangirling on all 3 pages I’ve seen also featuring this book this week lol.

    Second, I added like 3 of these to my TBR, which is a lot given I already had a handful of them on my list. My TBR thanks you =D

    Wish you luck in getting to all of these in 2020!

    If you want to check out my list this week you can do so here: https://bit.ly/37Lschr

    Like

  2. Lucy C January 7, 2020 / 6:44 pm

    I think I’ve added a good half of these books to my Goodreads TBR 😂 The one I think I’ve got my eye on the most is Elysium Girls. That blurb is so interesting!

    Like

  3. Pingback: January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s