My Votes Are In! 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards

Top Ten Tuesday(4)

100% credit for this post idea goes to the wonderful Melanie @ Mel To The Any so be sure to go check out her post as well as her amazing blog!

This post is pretty straight forward in that I’ll just be sort of discussing my votes in the Goodreads Choice Awards. If you haven’t gone and voted already be sure to go check it out, voting ends November 27th and the winners are announced December 5th!

I will only be discussing the categories I actually submitted a vote in, there are PLENTY of categories with nominees that are on my TBR but since I haven’t read them I didn’t feel it was very fair for me to vote for them (with one exception I will discuss below).

my page divider


Best Horror

My Vote: Lost Boy: The True Story of Captain Hook by Christina Henry

I will probably always and forever vote for Christina Henry’s horror books because they’re so well done and well written and just everything in general is fantastic about them. This is a retelling of Peter Pan from the POV of a young James Hook and serves as an origin story for the classic villain. I loved how Henry put such a unique, dark and twisted spin on the original tale it was so well done and utter perfection in my opinion.

You can read my full review of “Lost Boy” here, if you’re interested!


Best Young Adult Fiction

My Vote: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

There were actually a few I wanted to vote for in this category but “The Hate U Give” is such an important, powerful, and well written story I couldn’t stand the idea of NOT voting for it! This book is perfection, PERFECTION! It deserves to win every award and if you haven’t read this book already I highly, highly urge you to do so because it’s game-changing and powerful.

You can read my full review of “The Hate U Give” here, if you’re interested!


Best Debut Goodreads Author

My Vote: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

As I said, SHE DESERVES EVERY AWARD! When I was reading “The Hate U Give” I was blown away by her writing, it didn’t feel like I was reading a debut at all but more like the billionth book of a seasoned pro. I am very confident this book will win in both these categories!


Best Young Adult Fantasy/Science Fiction

My Vote: Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

So as I mentioned I usually don’t vote for books I haven’t actually read BUT I decided I need to make an exception and here’s why:

I love Laini Taylor’s books and I’m 100% confident I will love “Strange The Dreamer”. But another reason I wanted to vote for this book (besides the fact that I will love it when I do get around to reading it) is that I’m really tired of Sarah J. Maas’s books winning every year JUST because they’re Sarah J. Maas’s books. I’m sure her books are good but I’d like to see A DIFFERENT book and author win for once and so I wanted to help boost Laini Taylor because she deserves it.

my page divider

Have you read any of these books as well? What did you think?

Did you vote for any of these books in the Goodreads Choice Awards?

What books did you vote for?

Let me know in the comments!

The Sassy

13 thoughts on “My Votes Are In! 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards

  1. Samantha Duffy November 15, 2017 / 2:06 pm

    I COMPLETELY agree about The Hate U Give. I also voted for it in both categories. It deserves all the awards, and should absolutely be read by every single person right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek November 21, 2017 / 6:32 pm

      Yay! Glad you loved it as well and glad you voted for it too, I want it to win ALL the awards! If I was super rich I’d probably go around handing out copies to everyone just so more people could read it, haha! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. meltotheany November 15, 2017 / 3:08 pm

    I love this post! And you are so sweet! And I just added Lost Boy to my TBR! Happy reading, beautiful! 💗xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek November 21, 2017 / 6:35 pm

      Thank you Melanie and thanks for letting me do this post, it was pretty fun! I would absolutely love to see what you think of Lost Boy, I just adore every horror retelling she writes! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. coffeelovingbookoholic November 16, 2017 / 4:16 am

    i also voted for “the hate you give”! it is an amazing book and it deserves the award! 🙂 haven’t read “strange the dreamer”…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Naty November 16, 2017 / 7:25 am

    The Hate U Give deserves all the awards! Such a fantastic book!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek November 21, 2017 / 7:12 pm

      Same! I also just really need to read it as well, haha! I have nothing against Sarah J. Maas’s books but I just want to see a different author take the win this year! 🙂

      Like

  5. Briana November 17, 2017 / 6:44 pm

    I have such a problem that in many of the categories I haven’t read any of the nominated books, even though I read tons of books each year. I was very surprised I hadn’t read a single one of the middle grade nominees for instance. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek November 28, 2017 / 4:16 pm

      Same here! I had more nominees on my TBR than I had actually read, which is unfortunate. We will get to all of them eventually though, haha! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment