Favorite Book Covers of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday (31)

Everyone sit back because this is going to be a pretty long post! I’ll try not to spend too much time on each book individually because then it’ll be even longer but I’ll do my best. I will be linking reviews to the books I have read but there are a lot more on my TBR for sure.

And of course there a LOADS of other gorgeous covers that were released this year but these are my favorites!

my page divider

Untitled design(10)

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

A book cover that is as gorgeous as it’s story, I’ll have a review up soon for this one!

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel

I just love the crow on the cover, it’s also a pretty decent book as well! (You can read my full review here)

The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

I just love the font and little doodles over the picture! (You can read my full review here)

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

I love, love, love the pink hair of this cover. (You can read my full review here)

The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

The colors and little glittery/sparkly/magic bits just make this cover so neat. (You can read my full review here)

One of Us is Lying Karen M. Mcmanus

While I didn’t enjoy this book I do think the cover is really cool. (You can read my full review here)

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Such pretty purple and gold designs….(You can read my full review here)

The Beast is an Animal by Peternelle van Arsdale

The colors on this cover are seriously gorgeous I love that blue and red combo! Although the book didn’t end up as pretty on the inside for me. (You can read my full review here)

Untitled design(11)

Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

The flower and the snow globe is just so beautiful as for the rest of the book it was kind of “meh”. (You can read my full review here)

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

I think it’s a Phoenix. It’s a Phoenix, right? Either way it’s gorgeous and the little throwing stars that change from purple flowers are great too.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I love the dark blue and the font is gorgeous.

Warcross by Marie Lui

I like the rainbow of colors and the video game style font.

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

This might be cheating since it’s the UK cover but I love the blue and gold plus there’s a little design on the back that’s like a galaxy.

Roseblood by A.G. Howard

Normally I’m not a fan of faces on my covers but I like that it’s based off of The Phantom of the Opera and the thorns add a lot as well.

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo

This one is simple: I like the intricate designs all over this cover.

Because You Love to Hate Me by Various Authors

The different shades of purple are great as well as the metal rose!

Untitled design(12)

The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell

It’s like a really neat skeletal ouroboros. Plus the font is great too.

Retribution Rails by Erin Bowman

Normally I’d say there’s too much going on with this cover but I like how busy it is and the old fashioned western look is fantastic.

Bad Romance by Heather Demetrios

Is it weird to say that the dead flowers coming out of the picture frame is actually really pretty?

Wild Beauty by Anne Marie McLemore

Love all of the beautiful flowers.

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

I actually really like the bright green background and the black snake wrapped around the flower is just very appealing to my eyes, haha.

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

I love the sunset shaded colors and the girl sitting on the throne is beautiful.

Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

The cover actually matches the title perfectly and I love the violets inside the grenade and the black background really makes it pop.

Defy The Stars by Claudia Gray

Gorgeous colors and I like that it looks like it’s all shattering.

Untitled design(13)

Song of the Current by Sarah Tolcser

Okay the cover is just straight up gorgeous BUT on the hard covers the title is actually glitter. Straight up glitter. I love glitter.

The Arsonist by Stephanie Oakes

It’s a very unique cover and I like the colors with the white background, the “flames” consuming the house inside the picture of the woman is all really interesting too.

The Wood by Chelsea Bobulski

Creepy and beautiful with the leaf dripping blood.

The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed

Love the bright yellow against the black background with the flowers in there as well.

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

I like the pops of color against the black background

This Mortal Coil by Emily Suvada

The red bursting cloud is just really cool and I like that it’s the focus of the cover. (You can read my full review here)

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

I like that her hands are all paint covered and she’s holding her art/characters in her hands.

Gray Wolf Island by Tracey Neithercott

I love that in the title font the A in island looks like a compass arrow and i like all of the fog covering the characters and island. (You can read my full review here)

my page divider

Do you like any of these covers as well? 

What are some of your favorite book covers of 2017?

Have any least favorite covers?

Let me know in the comments!

The Sassy

17 thoughts on “Favorite Book Covers of 2017

  1. TheQuirkyBookNerd December 14, 2017 / 9:47 pm

    I agree with you on all of these! I think my overall favorite is the UK Strange the Dreamer cover! ❤️ There are so many beautiful covers this year! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek December 30, 2017 / 7:43 pm

      Thanks Ari! And yes same! The UK Cover of Strange the Dreamer is probably my top fave as well, I love blue and gold together (might be because I’m a Ravenclaw though, haha!)! And yes I feel like book covers are getting better and better each year! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Claire @bookscoffeeandrepeat December 14, 2017 / 9:57 pm

    I also fell in love with some of these covers especially the GGTVAV! 😍🤣
    Still need to purchase Queens of Geek! It’s a simple yet beautiful cover. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek December 30, 2017 / 7:44 pm

      Glad you love some of them as well, and not to be a book enabler but you should definitely purchase Queens of Geek both for the story and the cover. I admit I bought a copy because the cover is just so awesome! 🙂

      Like

  3. RedRocketPanda December 15, 2017 / 8:33 am

    I loved the Caraval book cover! That’s actually one of the motivations I had for buying it. Sadly my copy isn’t the beautiful blue one, it’s gold and white instead, but it’s still quite nice!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek December 30, 2017 / 7:52 pm

      That’s one of the reasons I bought my copy as well! It’s just so gorgeous! I actually really love the UK cover too though especially since I heard there are 4 different designs underneath the dust jackets, so I agree your copy is still very nice! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek December 30, 2017 / 7:54 pm

      Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it! I didn’t hear very good things about it either and I agree it’s such a shame since the cover is so gorgeous! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nicole @ booksinked December 20, 2017 / 2:16 pm

    So many good books here! 2017 hit it out of the ballpark!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment