Down The TBR Hole #20

Top Ten Tuesday(92)

This was “created” by Lost in a Story!

The Rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
  • Keep track of where you left off so you can pick up there next week!

Check out my other editions of “Down The TBR Hole” here.

my page divider

Untitled design(47).jpg


Book #232
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Date Added: January 27th, 2016

I don’t know why I initially added this book but with the upcoming movie (that looks badass) I’m going to keep it because I think, as a geek, that it’d be right up my alley.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #233
The Screaming Staircase by Jonathan Stroud
Date Added: January 27th, 2016

This book has loads of glowing reviews and I’m sure I’d enjoy it if I read it but I just don’t have a whole lot of interest in it at the moment. And I don’t really want to gum up my TBR with books I’m “meh” about anymore.

The Judgement: Go


Book #234
Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong
Date Added: January 27th, 2016

While the premise for this book sounds great (Forest of the Dead where criminals are exiled and a team of twin sisters have to go put down all the angry souls of the damned there) I’ve heard it’s extremely slow and boring, and I just don’t have the patience for slow books that promise cool/badass things and don’t deliver.

The Judgement: Go


Book#235
The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters
Date Added: January 27th, 2016

I think I’ve said this before but I intend on keeping pretty much all of the books by Cat Winters on my TBR, she’s great.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #236
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
Date Added: January 27th, 2016

I love horses, always have, and I also like Steifvater’s writing so really it’s the perfect pair for me.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #237
This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
Date Added: January 27th, 2016

I heard this wasn’t what a lot of people were expecting it to be and therefore probably not what I was expecting it to be either. Plus I don’t have a whole lot of interest in it anymore

The Judgement: Go


Book #238
Low, Vol. 1: The Delirium of Hope by Rick Remender
Date Added: January 28th, 2016

I really like the sound of this graphic novel, humans have to live in the depths of the ocean to escape the sun’s radiation and also set out to see if they can’t find a new place to live in space. Kind of reminds me of Bioshock.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #239
Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine
Date Added: February 1st, 2016

While I am all for getting my hands on Phantom of the Opera retellings, this one just doesn’t sound like it’s for me. It seems really slow and boring and I just don’t know if it’s a book for me.

The Judgement: Go


Untitled design(48)

Book #240
The Progeny by Tosca Lee
Date Added: February 8th, 2016

This book is about one of the descendants of serial killer Elizabeth Bathory “Blood Countess” and a secret society that’s trying to kill her for the sole purpose that she is the descendant of a serial killer. While I admit I have a morbid curiosity when it comes to things involving serial killers and that’s why I wanted to read this book, I’ve heard that it’s actually pretty boring and messy. Like the secret society only wants to kill her because of who her ancestor was with no other explanation. I don’t like that.

The Judgment: Go


Book #241
Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace
Date Added: February 9th, 2016

I’m excited to give this one a try since I think it seems really underrated. It’s about a girl who wakes up in a grave, her heartbeat comes and goes, she can sense people who are hiding murderous secrets, and there’s a secret society looking for creatures like her. I think it sounds great!

The Judgement: Keep


Book #242
Feed by Mira Grant
Date Added: February 9th, 2016

I love zombies and I love zombie books, however, I’ve heard this one can be a bit slow and drags on. Also if I’m reading a book about zombies I like to at least see some zombies and not at the end of the book, which I’ve heard complaints about the lack of zombies.

The Judgement: Go


Book #243
Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman
Date Added: February 11th, 2016

I don’t know why I actually added this? I think because it was a new releases at the time. Usually I don’t enjoy historical fiction and especially ones where the plot sounds cliched and full of more cliched romance.

The Judgement: Go


Book #244
A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
Date Added: February 11th, 2016

I’m all for a Sherlock Holmes retelling especially one where Sherlock is a female. I actually read maybe half of this book and had to return it to the library but what I read was pretty good.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #245
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Date Added: February 13th, 2016

Maybe one day I’ll actually read my copy I “just had to have”.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #246
Titans by Victoria Scott
Date Added: February 15th, 2016

Mechanical horse racing. Sold.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #247
Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie
Date Added: February 15th, 2016

This just sounded super cliched and like it’s nothing new.

The Judgement: Go


Untitled design(49)

Book #248
Seven Black Diamonds by Melissa Marr
Date Added: February 15th, 2016

I only added this because Fae, but there seem to be a ton of DNF reviews for this book so I just don’t really want to waste my time with it anymore.

The Judgement: Go


Book #249
Starflight by Melissa Landers
Date Added: February 15th, 2016

Comparisons to Firefly and I read a sample of it already and liked what I read, so I’m definitely keeping it. I love sci-fi too.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #250
The Isle of Blood by Rick Yancey
Date Added: February 16th, 2016

The third book in the Monstrumologist series and I do plan on continuing with it.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #251
Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
Date Added: February 23rd, 2016

A fantasy where the the princess ends up falling for the sister of her betrothed. I’m pretty much here for the F/F romance.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #252
Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerill
Date Added: February 23rd, 2016

Another YA fantasy that doesn’t sound like anything new or unique, plus I can’t stand romance focused plots and that’s the impression I get from this one.

The Judgement: Go


Book #253
Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen
Date Added: February 23rd, 2016

While I do appreciate that there’s no romance (I read this in a review) in this book, I still think the plot kind of sounds pretty bland and there isn’t much information given as to what the book is actually about.

The Judgement: Go


Book #254
The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst
Date Added: February 23rd, 2016

The title alone is awesome, plus there’s great reviews, and the plot with a badass queen who must protect humankind from he malevolent spirits of the land.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #255
Heir To The Sky by Amanda Sun
Date Added: February 29th, 2016 (leap year!)

I liked the concept of everyone living on floating islands and that the abandoned Earth is full of cool monsters. However, I heard the protagonist really isn’t likable and that she’s saved by a boy. I don’t like whiny heroines that need to rely on a male character to do all the work and save them all the time.

The Judgement: Go

my page divider

Total: 12/24 Books Gone

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

Do you think I should have kept any of these books?

Do you agree with any of my keeps or discards?

Let me know in the comments!

Follow Me Elsewhere: Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

The Sassy

 

7 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #20

  1. Whimsically Meghan March 16, 2018 / 3:33 pm

    The Scorpio Races is my favourite Maggie Stiefvater novel! I feel like it’s her best writing and the plot and characters are just so good; so I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek March 21, 2018 / 10:16 am

      That makes me even more excited to get to it! I liked the first two books in the Raven Cycle but hearing this one is even better just gives me a powerful need to get my hands on my own copy, haha! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jess March 16, 2018 / 8:25 pm

    I just removed Ready Player One from my TBR, I don’t really know why it was on there. I really liked The Scorpio Races though, I hope you like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek March 21, 2018 / 10:17 am

      Yeah reading some other reviews of Ready Player One kind of makes me re-think keeping it, I may just go see the movie and be done withit, haha! I’ve been hearing good things about keeping Scorpio Races so I’m hoping I will love it too, thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment