Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Have Been On My TBR The Longest

Top Ten Tuesday(9)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

It has now been moved over to That Artsy Reader Girl.

There are quite a few books that have been waiting a very long time for me to read them and I only joined Goodreads 3 years ago so the books SAY that’s when I added them but in reality they’ve been waiting longer than that.

These are in no particular order.

my page divider


Untitled design(26)

10.) The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Yep, this one has been waiting a while but this year is the year I’m reading it! It’s officially on my “Beat the Backlist” TBR so it’s happening! I finally got a copy for Christmas too so now I really have no excuses.


9.) Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Years back I read the amazing book known as “The Graveyard Book” and I decided I HAD to read more Neil Gaiman plain and simple. So “Neverwhere” is a pretty big book of his so I added it to my TBR, hopefully I’ll get to it….eventually.


8.) The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

I always feel really conflicted about this book because on the one side I hear it’s excruciatingly slow paced but on the other side I LOVE heists in fantasy books and criminal/anti-hero main characters. So I do want to give it a go since I own a copy.


7.) The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

As you can see I’ve added a lot of the “big” high fantasy novels and just proceed to not read them. I’m terrible. I really liked Abercrombie’s YA fantasy book “Half a King” as the plot twists were incredible and I enjoy politically driven fantasy books. So I’d like to read more of his writing!


6.) The Way of Shadows by Brent Weeks

Yep, more fantasy. What can I say? I like fantasy and I also like assassins.


5.) Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

I loved ‘True Blood’ so naturally I want to read the books, will I ever actually do it though? That’s the question. I may yet remove this one from my TBR just because it’s been on here forever.


4.) Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence

Now as you can already probably tell I really, REALLY enjoy fantasy but what I enjoy more than that is dark fantasy. And I think it’s safe to say this qualifies, I’m here for the stabby books.


3.) The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

Why have I STILL not read this book? I’ve heard nothing but great things about it, I own it, and it’s super short.


2.) The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

A classic and while I don’t normally read many classics I do want to read this one. I’ve been trying. For years. I have yet to finish.

1.) Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton

I think it’s pretty obvious why this is on my list….the movie and dinosaurs.

my page divider

Have you read any of these books? What did you think?

What are some books that have been on your TBR the longest?

Let me know in the comments!

Follow Me Elsewhere: Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

The Sassy

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Have Been On My TBR The Longest

  1. Alyssa February 6, 2018 / 2:27 pm

    The Name of the Wind has been on my to-read list for FOREVER. I really need to make a point to read that. :p I don’t that the Sookie Stackhouse series is a must-read, to be honest. The first few books are great, but then they devolve into very formulaic plots. Hope you get to these soon! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 1:49 pm

      I’m finally going to force myself to read The Name of the Wind this year, it’s been on my TBR for too long as well! Yeah, I’m kind of back and forth on reading the Sookie Stackhouse series because I’m not sure if it’ll be for me so I’ll keep that in mind! Thank you, happy reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Zezee February 6, 2018 / 6:21 pm

    Way of Shadows was one of my most enjoyable reads last year. I liked all the action in it. I was totally hooked. And the Great Gatsby has such beautiful writing. I like it for that. I recommend both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 1:50 pm

      I’m definitely excited to get to Way of Shadows, I’m so happy to hear you loved it and that it’s full of action because that’s why I added it! I’m not one for classics but I do have a feeling I’ll like The Great Gatsby! Thanks Zezee! 🙂

      Like

  3. mscmdunn February 6, 2018 / 10:01 pm

    Ooooo! Girl! 10, 9, and 8 are some of my favorite books!! “Name of the Wind” is such an engaging read, especially if you like really well-developed worlds. Kvothe’s adventures are so interesting!
    Then, Neil Gaiman. I haven’t picked up a book of his I haven’t liked, and I’ve read most of his works! “Neverwhere” is such a fun story of a man who gets caught up in a series of wild and fantastic circumstances and rises to the occasion, and it is so fun to explore London Below through his eyes!
    THEN LOCKE. Whew! I read “The Lies of Locke Lamora” for the first time this summer, AND IT WAS SO FREAKIN’ GOOD. I busted out laughing. I bawled my eyes out. It is such a fun story of the most audacious thieves, and I loved every second of it—I’m actually reading the third book now!
    So, do yourself a favor. GET TO READ THE WONDERFUL BOOKS ON THIS TBR OF YOURS! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 1:54 pm

      I definitely love well developed worlds! Good to know The Name of the Wind doesn’t disappoint, I was hoping for such a long book that it would be well detailed!
      I’ve only read The Graveyard Book, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and Coraline by Neil Gaiman and I have yet to be disappointed as well. Glad you really enjoyed Neverwhere, I’m definitely hoping to give it a read here.
      I know I seriously need to read Locke! It promises to be everything I love in a fantasy, so glad you loved it! 🙂

      Like

  4. the (book) supplier February 6, 2018 / 10:09 pm

    I’ve got a lot of Neil on my TBR as well. I think the only two I’ve read are Ocean at the End of the Lane and The Graveyard Book.

    eli @ the (book) supplier
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 1:55 pm

      I’ve read those two as well! The only other one I have read by Gaiman is “Coraline” which was also fantastic. I’ve got quite a few of his books on my TBR, hopefully we both enjoy more of his work! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Destiny @ Howling Libraries February 6, 2018 / 10:11 pm

    Name of the Wind, The Thief, and The Lies of Locke Lamora are all books I HAVE TO read this year! I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to them sooner!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 1:56 pm

      SAME! I’m almost ashamed of myself because I haven’t read any of them and I call myself a Fantasy fan, haha! Any buddy reads let me know of course because I own all three of them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. RedRocketPanda February 7, 2018 / 10:57 am

    I loooooooooveeeeee the Jurassic Park books. I’ve read both Jurassic Park & The Lost World and love them both. It’s really interesting to explore the concept further in the books and see how bits of the written material have been adapted for the screen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 2:14 pm

      So glad to hear that! I was a bit worried that watching the films first would make the books less interesting but I was hoping there would be more information we don’t see in the films explored more in the books, glad it delivers! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Anna @MyBookishDream February 8, 2018 / 5:17 am

    Neverwhere has been on my TBR for ages as well! For some reason I never get around to actually buying it, I have no idea why. The Lies of Locke Lamora is a rather slow read, but the characters are amazing and some of my all time favourites – especially Locke!! That is also one of my all time favourite fantasy books, so I hope that you will give it a shot! 😀 Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 4:22 pm

      I know, I don’t have a copy of Neverwhere either! I love Neil Gaiman’s writing so I don’t know why! I’ve heard Locke is pretty slow and when I tried reading it a long time ago I definitely got that impression and set it aside. I’ll have to push through it and give it another chance, so glad you loved it Anna I’m a sucker for great characters in fantasy books so I’m sold! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. amortalreader1 February 8, 2018 / 11:28 am

    I loved the True Blood TV series as well and I tried to read the books and I barely got into the first chapter. I think it was too similar for me that I felt like well what’s the point when I’ve seen the show but maybe one day I’ll give them another go and see if it actually is very similar or not. I’m not sure about it, like I loved Vampire Diaries but then I wouldn’t even attempt to read the books because I know that it isn’t overly similar in terms of characters looks and I couldn’t read Elena being blonde

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 15, 2018 / 4:26 pm

      I kind of have the feeling I’ll be the same way if I try and read the books, like the show was good enough for me and the more I think about it the more I just don’t wanna waste my time with the book series. I’m sure the books deviate from the show a lot more further in but “meh”.

      Liked by 1 person

      • amortalreader1 February 16, 2018 / 6:59 am

        I get you! Also there’s SO many books in the series. I actually don’t know how many there are? Is there over 10? Feel like there is!

        I might give it a try considering I’ve not watched the TV show in so long I have zero clue what happens in it again 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek February 19, 2018 / 4:21 pm

        I think you’re right, ten sounds right it might even be more than that I have no clue but there are quite a few!

        I feel like I could use a True Blood rewatch, I hardly remember anything that happened in it either! 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment