Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag (2018 Edition)

Top Ten Tuesday(65)

It’s that time of the year again! I just love doing this tag, also if you’d like to do this as well then consider yourself tagged!

my page divider

Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2018

Image result for circe

This book is honestly perfection and I can’t praise it enough! It’s about the sorceress of Greek mythology Circe and is a telling of her life from her POV. It’s not only beautifully written but also full of bits from other Greek myths as well, if you’re into Greek mythology you will love this but even if you are not you won’t miss a beat! Hands down best book I’ve read this year so far and it’s going to be hard to beat (I feel like “Vengeful” may give it a run for its money though)!

(Full review here)


Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2018

Image result for bruja born book

I usually don’t read sequels right away but I received an ARC of this one and was far from disappointed with it. I honestly think it was even better than “Labyrinth Lost” was but it’s hard to go wrong with Latinx characters with magical powers!

(Full review here)


Most Anticipated Release For The Second Half of the Year

Image result for the boneless mercies

It’s a feminist retelling of “Beowulf” so I basically need it.


Biggest Disappointment

Image result for sky in the deep

Yeah, definitely the biggest disappointment. I mean it was about VIKINGS! I was supposed to love this! Unfortunately I thought it was super boring and tedious, it was like I read a book about nothing since nothing ever really happened.

(Full review here)


Biggest Surprise

Image result for royals book

I usually don’t go for contemporaries let alone romance focused ones but I love tales of modern royalty so I had to give it a go…..and I loved it! It wasn’t as romance focused as I initially thought and I loved all of the dramatic happenings and the main character was so hilarious!

(Full review here)


Favorite New Author

Image result for song of achillesImage result for circe

Madeline Miller

I read both “Song of Achilles” AND “Circe” this year, both 5 star reads and both fantastically written. I will now proceed to read any and all things written by Madeline Miller.


Newest Fictional Crush

Ragnar Volarus (Red Rising Trilogy)

DON’T JUDGE ME! I was picturing him a lot younger than I think he actually is supposed to be so…let’s not make it weird. We can pretend. I mean he’s like a big, badass teddy bear can you blame me?


Newest Favorite Character

Ragnar Volarus (Red Rising Trilogy)

……..yeah he’s just my favorite period.


Book That Made You Cry

Image result for morning star book

By cry do you mean sob uncontrollably for an embarrassingly long time? Yes? Yeah then the answer is “Morning Star”. If you’ve read it…..I think you know why.


Book That Made You Happy

Image result for royals book

It was hilarious and just purely a good time, I guess you could say it made me pretty happy. Especially compared to the usually dark and bleak books I read!


Favorite Book To Film Adaptation

Image result for the darkest minds movie

I haven’t seen any yet this year but the one I’m most excited for is “The Darkest Minds” which I still need to read as well!


Favorite Post You’ve Done This Year

I actually do quite a few posts I’m pretty proud of but the one I really liked was “Book Blogging Tips: How To Write Reviews For Your Book Blog & Other Post Ideas”. I also feel like it can be really helpful for other bloggers as well because I know I have moments where I don’t know what to write in my reviews!


Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

(photo by me! Check out my Instagram (@thesassybookgeek)

This cover is BEAUTIFUL!!!!


New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

Image result for neverworld wake

I really, really loved “Night Film” by Marisha Pessl so I’m super excited for her YA book. I’m not too sure what exactly it’s supposed to be about but honestly I don’t need to know.


What Book Do You Need To Read By the End of the Year

Image result for strange the dreamer book uk cover

I said this last year as well but I’M SERIOUS THIS TIME! I need to read it!

my page divider

Follow Me Elsewhere: Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

The Sassy

13 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag (2018 Edition)

  1. meltotheany June 21, 2018 / 3:07 pm

    Yaaaaaaaas, my queen! You need to read Strange the Dreamer and gush with me forever and ever! And, I totally picked Circe, too! So much perfection! But happy summer solace, love! And happy reading, always! 💗xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 18, 2018 / 3:27 pm

      I know, I knoooow! I’m so ashamed of myself for not having read it yet but I will come straight to you for all the gushing because I know I will love it! I mean this is Laini Taylor we are talking about! And Circe really is perfection, I feel like I need to go force it into everyone’s hands, haha! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anna @MyBookishDream June 21, 2018 / 4:44 pm

    I really want to read Circe! 😀 I have heard so many amazing things about it, plus I’m always interested in books that retell mythology. I’m just conflicted which of Miller’s books to read first, Circe or The Song of Achilles.
    It’s seriously too bad that Sky in the Deep was boring. Also, how do you make a boring book from an exiting topic like Vikings? I don’t think I will be picking that book up.
    Wild Beauty has such a gorgeous cover, I definitely need to get my hands on it! 😀
    Great post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 18, 2018 / 3:29 pm

      I really enjoyed both Circe and Song of Achilles but there was just something about Circe I liked better, so I would recommend starting with Circe but that’s just me! I’m biased because I loved it so much!
      And I know right? How CAN you turn a Viking book boring?! By having the main character enslaved/imprisoned and have her do a bunch of chores instead of Viking clan battles and fights, that’s apparently how (haha)!

      Thanks Anna! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. MetalPhantasmReads June 21, 2018 / 9:01 pm

    Awesome list! I’m going to do one soon 🙂 I got Bruja Born from the library so I hope to get to it soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nimika @ wordhaven June 21, 2018 / 9:49 pm

    I’ve been hearing about Circle everywhere and WHY HAVEN’T I PICKED IT UP, YET?And it’s about greek mythology- which is just, I love Greek myth (thanks, Uncle Rick).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 18, 2018 / 3:30 pm

      I seriously cannot recommend Circe enough, I loved how many different bits from different myths were included! It’s a Greek mythology lover’s dream! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cindy June 22, 2018 / 4:00 am

    I’m so excited to read Circe!! I read The Song of Achilles earlier this year and I loved it! I’ve only read Red Rising but I loved it so much and I can’t wait to finish the series. Strange the Dreamer is amazing! Hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 18, 2018 / 3:33 pm

      I loved Song of Achilles as well, Miller’s writing is just so beautiful! I have to say though I loved Circe even more so I hope you love it as well! And I have to say when you continue with the Red Rising series it’s a good idea to have Morning Star on hand after reading Golden Son because that cliffhanger ending is brutal!
      Thank you, I hope I will enjoy Strange the Dreamer as well but it is Laini Taylor so I don’t have many doubts! 🙂

      Like

  6. Norrie June 22, 2018 / 1:44 pm

    All your covers are so pretty 😍
    I got song of Achilles but haven’t read it yet. Circe i will surely buy in hard back because i just want to stare at it 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment