Down The TBR Hole #11

Top Ten Tuesday(92)

If you missed my other posts of Down the TBR Hole here they are:

This was “created” by Lost in a Story!

The Rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
  • Keep track of where you left off so you can pick up there next week!

my page divider

Current TBR: 779


Book #101

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Image result for the madman's daughter

I haven’t read many Gothic books so I’d like to keep this on my TBR just to give it a try, plus I like anything remotely horror-y. I am a little leery about it though since I think it might be full of tropes like insta-love and a love triangle.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #102

Not A Drop To Drink by Mindy McGinnis

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Related image

This one is a dystopian about a girl who protects her and her mother’s pond from all outsiders as water is a precious resource. It actually sounds really interesting and while I don’t have a copy yet I do want one!

The Judgement: Keep


Book #103

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Image result for stardust by neil gaiman

I’m pretty keen on reading a bunch of Neil Gaiman’s books so I’ll be keeping “Stardust” for now.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #104

Tsarina by Nelle J. Patrick

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Image result for tsarina nelle j patrick

This is fantasy and Russian historical fiction all rolled into one so I’m really excited to read it as Russia is a setting I love to see explored.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #105

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Image result for stitching snow

This is a sci-fi Snow White retelling which sounds awesome but I just have zero interest in it anymore and the reviews for it are kind of “meh”.

The Judgement: Go


Book #106

Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Image result for perfect ruin

I already own a copy and it seems interesting especially with the whole concept of a floating city!

The Judgement: Keep


Book #107

Charming by Elliot James

Date Added: July 27th, 2015

Image result for charming elliott james

I don’t really know why I ever added this because I’m really not that big of a fan of urban fantasy. So I’ll definitely be getting rid of this.

The Judgement: Go


Book #108

The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley

Date Added: July 28th, 2015

Image result for the mirror empire

I’m kind of iffy about this one still because on the one hand I don’t really want to read it SUPER badly but it does sound really interesting so I kind of want to give it a try. See? I’m terrible, this is why my TBR is so high.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #109

The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

Date Added: July 28th, 2015

Image result for the last wish

This is another one I debated heavily about but I really do love the Witcher games (who doesn’t?) so I kind of would love to read one of the books.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #110

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

Date Added: July 28th, 2017

Image result for the girl of fire and thorns

I feel like with this YA Fantasy that people either loved it or hated it, I don’t think I’ll buy a copy but rather borrow it from the library just in case since my opinion could go either way.

The Judgement: Keep

my page divider

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

Do you think I should have kept any of these books?

Do you agree with any of my keeps or discards?

Let me know in the comments!

The Sassy

6 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #11

  1. Plot Monster December 29, 2017 / 10:30 pm

    Stitching Snow has a pretty cover, but not sure it would spark my interest either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rakioddbooks December 29, 2017 / 10:34 pm

    This is an excellent idea to go through your TBR. Perhaps I should implement something similar. I haven’t read any of the books you listed so I can’t really comment on that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MetalPhantasmReads December 31, 2017 / 4:27 pm

    I really loved the first Girl of Fire and Thorns, but the romance didn’t quite work for me in the end. But Carson did such a cool job with a Latin culture fantasy 🙂 I’m curious to see your thoughts on it. I also have a physical copy of Not a Drop to Drink and hope to read that next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment