Down The TBR Hole #27

 

Top Ten Tuesday(92)

This was “created” by Lost in a Story!

The Rules:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?
  • Keep track of where you left off so you can pick up there next week!

Check out my other editions of “Down The TBR Hole” here

my page divider

Current TBR: 695


Untitled design (46)

Book #400
Nemesis by Brendan Reichs
Date Added: September 21st, 2016

This book has a lot going on in the synopsis: a girl who is murdered every 2 years only to awaken just fine, a boy who has nightmares of death, and a giant asteroid heading straight for the Earth. It sounds weird but also the good kind of weird.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #401
Overturned by Lamar Giles
Date Added: September 21st, 2016

The main character must navigate the Las Vegas Underground in order to find out who framed her father for murder. I’m a sucker for Vegas themed books for some reason….

The Judgement: Keep


Book #402
Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson
Date Added: September 23rd, 2016

I just don’t think this one sounds all that unique among all of the other mystery/thrillers out there.

The Judgement: Go


Book #403
The Call by Peadar O’Guilin
Date Added: October 6th, 2016

Irish mythology and also man eating fairies? Sign me up.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #404
Warcross by Marie Lu
Date Added: October 12th, 2016

Keeping for the bounty hunters, illegal gaming, and gorgeous cover.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #405
Defy The Stars by Claudia Gray
Date Added: October 12th, 2016

Interstellar war, robots, and another gorgeous cover! It’s almost kind of my mission in life to read all the YA sci-fi….

The Judgement: Keep


Book #406
Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older
Date Added: October 20th, 2016

This one just doesn’t really seem like my cup of tea.

The Judgement: Go


Book #407
A Taste for Monsters by Matthew J. Kirby
Date Added: October 24th, 2016

Historical fiction isn’t really my thing and this one just kind of sounds boring.

The Judgement: Go


Untitled design (48).jpg

 

Book #408
Frozen Charlotte by Alex Bell
Date Added: October 26th, 2016

I love, love, love YA horror and just plain creepy books and this one has spooky dolls!

The Judgement: Keep


Book #409
Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

I enjoy reading YA fantasy that has some darker elements and I think this book has that.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #410
The Black Witch by Laurie Forest
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

This book got a lot of bad rep when it was first published but I’ve also seen a lot of reviews since then say that all of that bad rep wasn’t accurate. Either way I’d like to give it a read for myself.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #411
4 Wizards by Noelle Stevenson
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

I’ll add this back onto my TBR when there’s a pub date, but for now it’s just wasting space on my TBR!

The Judgement: Go


Book #412
The Glass Spare by Lauren DeStefano
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

Yeah, the reviews aren’t all that great for this one and I’m not interested anymore.

The Judgement: Go


Book #413
League of American Traitors by Matthew Landis
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

I mean, the title kind of says it all!

The Judgment: Keep


Book #414
The Valiant by Lesley Livingston
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

It’s a gladiator book, a female gladiator book.

The Judgement: Keep


Book #415
The Book Jumper by Mechthild Glaser
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

As much as I love the idea of “book jumping”, I mean what book lover wouldn’t, I’ve heard this is kind of slow and boring.

The Judgement: Go


Untitled design (47).jpg

Book #416
The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

Pirates and sea monsters! Also great reviews!

The Judgement: Keep


Book #417
Dark Breaks the Dawn by Sara B. Larson
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

Nope, sounds like another “meh” YA fantasy.

The Judgement: Go


Book #418
The Elementalist by V.V. Mont
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

Another book I’ll add back when there’s a definite pub date, but right now it doesn’t look like it’ll be happening anytime soon.

The Judgement: Go


Book #419
The Traitor’s Kiss by Erin Beaty
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

Once again this one sounds like a really cliche YA fantasy that probably focuses too much on the romance for me.

The Judgement: Go


Book #420
Heroesville by Cassie James
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

Eh. Just don’t really have any interest in reading it anymore.

The Judgement: Go


Book #421
Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson
Date Added: October 27th, 2016

I love a good mystery/thriller…

The Judgement: Keep


Book #422
Long Lankin by Lindsey Barraclough

Date Added: October 20th, 2016

This one seems like it might be a little too long and slow for me but I’m still here for the creepy….

The Judgement: Keep

my page divider

10/24 Books Removed

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

Do you think I should have kept any of these books?

Do you agree with any of my keeps or discards?

Let me know in the comments!

Follow Me Elsewhere: Twitter * Instagram * Goodreads

The Sassy

8 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #27

  1. MetalPhantasmReads May 18, 2018 / 7:50 pm

    Awesome post! Lots of choice lol. I’m glad that you’ll read The Black Witch for yourself; I know I will, since I never thought the bad reviews were legit.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek May 22, 2018 / 2:53 pm

      Thank you! I’m glad you agree on The Black Witch, I mean right away there were so many one star ratings and bad reviews calling it racist and homophobic but since then I have also seen plenty of other reviews deny that and rate it highly. I usually like to see for myself when books get that kind of mixed opinion. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • MetalPhantasmReads May 23, 2018 / 8:17 am

        Right? I did listen to about 3 hours of the audio book last year and I got no vibes of those things people were saying. But I hope to get back to it soon 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lucy C May 19, 2018 / 2:14 am

    I’ve read and liked Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee and Shadowshaper, but I happened to find both of them secondhand so they moved up my TBR quite quickly at that! Such hard choices sometimes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Destiny @ Howling Libraries May 20, 2018 / 10:16 pm

    I’m glad you kept some of these, like Frozen Charlotte and The Call (both on my TBR) and Warcross (so good)! I’ve been thinking about removing The Glass Spare from mine. I feel bad about it, though… I was offered an eARC last year, then later last year I won a “surprise stack” giveaway that ended up having a print ARC (which I’ve traded away), and then I ended up with a finished copy from Owlcrate. But I just really don’t care very much about reading ANY of them. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek May 22, 2018 / 3:26 pm

      I actually was debating on Frozen Charlotte until I read the synopsis again and was like “Nope! Definitely need to keep that!” haha! That’s kind of funny with The Glass Spare, it apparently really wants you to read it! It sounded interesting but I’ve seen some meh reviews for it and it just seems like it doesn’t bring anything new to the table as far as YA Fantasy books go.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment