June Wrap-Up

Top Ten Tuesday (18)

June was a fantastic month for me! Honestly it’s been really amazing to see my blog being supported so much by all of you it blows my mind and I’m extremely grateful for each and every one of you!

It’s also pretty great that I managed to read so many books as well although I have to say my June TBR did NOT go as planned at all and I’m so sorry…..

Image result for box of shame gif

Hopefully I’ll stay a little more on track this month with my reading!

my page divider

Books Read This Month: 9

Paper Girls, Vol. 1 by Brian K. VaughanThe Hundredth Queen by Emily R. KingOne of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManusThe Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1 by Kieron GillenThe Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 2 by Kieron GillenThe Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 3 by Kieron GillenThe Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 4 by Kieron GillenLost Boy by Christina HenryDare Me by Megan Abbott

Overall I had really mixed feelings about the books I read this month, it seemed I either really liked them or really disliked them. My favorite read would be “Lost Boy” and I really did not like “One of Us is Lying” and “Dare Me”.


Reviews Finished This Month:

The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus

Lost Boy: The True Story of Captain Hook by Christina Henry

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart


Tags & Memes Done This Month:

Top Ten Tuesday: Fantasy Books Recently Added to My TBR

Top 5 Wednesday: Books for Ravenclaws!

The Goodreads Book Tag

Top Ten Tuesday: Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017 So Far! 

The New Disney Princess Book Tag


Other Posts Done This Month:

May Wrap -Up

June Releases I’m Excited For!

June TBR

Discussion Post: Physical ARCs vs E-Galleys

Books I Forget To Recommend

Discussion Post: Reviewing New Releases vs. Backlist Books


What I’m Currently Reading: 

The DisappearancesDreamfall (Dreamfall #1)

Currently enjoying “The Disappearances” a lot and hopefully will have a review up by Wednesday! Then I’ll be moving on to “Dreamfall” which sounds super amazing!

my page divider

How was your reading and blogging month this June?

What were your best or worst reads?

What are you currently reading?

What books are you excited for this coming month, July?

Let me know in the comments!

The Sassy

12 thoughts on “June Wrap-Up

  1. Anna @MyBookishDream July 3, 2017 / 4:04 pm

    I’m glad to hear that June was a fantastic month for you! 😀 I hope that July will be another amazing month for you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Emma July 4, 2017 / 6:02 am

    It seems like you had a pretty great blogging and reading month even if it’s such a shame you didn’t enjoy all the books you got to in June. I’ve read the first Wicked + the Divine volume but wasn’t sure about it enough to pick up the rest – would you recommend it, is it a series that grows as it progresses? 🙂

    My favourite book I read in June was When Dimple Met Rishi, I sneaked it in on the last couple of days of the month and I’m glad I did because it more than made up for the lacklustre 2-star reads that had come before it – it was so cute and squishy and I’m glad I took the time out to read something light and fun in the midst of heavier things.

    I hope July brings with it some great books for you – happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 5, 2017 / 2:44 pm

      I do recommend continuing on with TW+TD but I also really enjoyed the first one. I would say it does grow quite a bit but it still remains a little bit confusing since everything hasn’t been explained yet. There are a lot more things going on though!

      Glad to hear you enjoyed When Dimple Met Rishi, I just got a copy as well! It’s definitely a hyped book but I’m happy it’s worth it! I’m not usually one for light, fluffy reads but this one I don’t think I can say no to!

      Happy reading and I hope you have a great July as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. amortalreader1 July 4, 2017 / 2:41 pm

    OO even though your TBR didn’t go to plan you read 9 books which is awesome! I’ve heard alot of people haven’t liked One of us is lying and it could be potentially triggering? Would you say the same?
    I’m currently reading the Throne of Glass series so i’m currently reading book 2 Crown of Midnight myself. Actually really enjoying it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 5, 2017 / 2:47 pm

      Thanks Hannah!

      I guess I hadn’t heard of anything triggering with One of Us is Lying and I didn’t notice anything while reading, what are some of the things they were saying maybe I could think of it?

      How did you like the first Throne of Glass book then? I found it to be kind of meh but I’m glad you’re enjoying the second book because I hear it’s a lot better! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • amortalreader1 July 6, 2017 / 4:52 pm

        I read a review which mentioned it has a harmful representation of sexuality and mental illness. I actually was hooked on Throne on Glass straight off, I think it helped that I didn’t have a clue what to expect going straight in so I was quite shocked it was about an assassin and i’m a sucker for like this whole training competition thing. I just finished Crown of Midnight too and it definitely has more shocks to it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek July 14, 2017 / 11:32 am

        Hm, yes I could see that I suppose! There are some moments where people either tease or alienate a boy because of his sexuality even though other characters come and defend him and I believe I know which character the mental illness is discussing now and I can see how it isn’t represented very well through one of the other POVs. Thanks for enlightening me though Hannah, I appreciate it because I honestly would have probably overseen it.

        I’ll probably have to give Crown of Midnight a go then! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews July 7, 2017 / 9:10 pm

    I have no idea how people manage to stick to set TBRs 😂 I’ve really got to read more of The Wicked + The Divine!! Lost Boy seems really interesting too!! Looking forward to seeing what you think of Dreamfall because it sounds so good so hopefully it doesn’t disappoint!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather @ The Sassy Book Geek August 2, 2017 / 8:05 am

      The only time I can stick to a TBR is if I have actual real deadlines such as with ARCs or library books otherwise I’m the worst haha!
      (I realized I’d somehow skipped a period of comments and that’s why I’m here…..a month later….commenting) 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment